BONDATHON: Midterm review

This article was written by Andy Duffield.

bondathon

Matt has asked me to contribute to his brilliant blog and this is the best I could come up with.

Okay, so this isn’t strictly a midterm review as I have in fact watched 14 of the 23 official Bond films. The films I have left to watch are: Dr. No, Thunderball, Diamonds are Forever, Live and Let Die, Moonraker, Octopussy, Tomorrow Never Dies, The World is not Enough and Die Another Day. Unfortunately I have left perhaps the ‘worst’ films ‘til last. Nevertheless, I really don’t mind as no matter how bad a Bond film is it is always great fun to watch one.

I have never really been a huge Bond fan, but since Skyfall was released and I started my Bondathon I have gained a huge amount of respect towards the franchise and I am amazed with the power of Bond. How is it still possible for a 50 year old franchise to produce huge box office hits like Skyfall? Just when you think things are looking bad for Bond (most notably the criticism towards A View to a Kill and the lack of box office success for License to Kill) it still manages to reinvent itself every time and stay at the forefront of cinema which is why I have grown to love it and now consider myself a Bond fan.

My favourite films so far have been, Goldfinger (of course), On Her Majesty’s Secret Service and License to Kill (which I see as heavily underrated). Sure enough I don’t think the remaining films will top these, but Bond is so enjoyable to watch that I just don’t care.

bondquoteJames Bond in Space.

I hope to finish the Bondathon within the next month or so and will write a more detailed analysis of my favourite and least favourite films and my all time favourite Bond. See you then!

Andy.

2 thoughts on “BONDATHON: Midterm review

  1. Pingback: Classical Kubrick | FILM RESOLUTION

Leave a Reply

