The Obligatory Oscar Post 2013

oscarbannerSo here is my Oscar post for 2013. And yet again the Oscars failed to surprise anyone, except for those who thought it would be worse then last year because it turned out horrendous.

I guess we all knew this was coming. The nominations were pretty dreadful. Affleck was ignored completely for his brilliant directorial work on Argo which is obvious by the amount of accolades he has been given since his snub. The Master was completely ignored in every category and for some reason, Lincoln was nominated for almost every category. In fact, I’m surprised it wasn’t nominated for Best Animated Short Film.

Of course Argo was going to get Best Film and Daniel Day-Lewis was always going to win Best Actor for his portrayal of an old man in Lincoln. However I don’t think many people expected Jennifer Lawrence to win for Silver Linings Datebook, especially not Jennifer Lawrence who was so shocked, she tripped on some stairs.

fallingoverA metaphor for the Oscars this year?

The rest of the awards I don’t really care about. Does anyone? Well actually, there’s one award that I do care about, one that I care about a lot. Best Cinematography. Skyfall had some of the most spectacular lighting I’ve seen in years and yet again, the greatest cinematographer living today has been completely forgotten about. Roger Deakins is an extremely talented man and it shows in every film that he’s worked on. It’s such a shame to see that after 10 Oscar nominations, he still hasn’t won anything. Well done Academy, well done.

rogeeeeer

Also one final note. Jack Nicholson definitely didn’t know where he was. Anyone hear a cuckoo? Har har har. Oh…

jackconfused

Matt.

4 thoughts on “The Obligatory Oscar Post 2013

  1. Fantastic site you have here but I was wanting to know if you
    knew of any forums that cover the same topics discussed here?
    I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get responses from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

  2. Aw, this was a really good post. Finding the time and actual effort to create
    a good article… but what can I say…
    I hesitate a lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.

Leave a Reply

