My 3 Favourite Uses of Music in the films of Danny Boyle

Well after watching Trance the other day (you can read my review here) I decided to go back and look at some of my favourite uses of music in the films of Danny Boyle, as the title  suggests.

1. Sunshine (2007)

John Murphy’s score is beautifully haunting and foreshadows the later events in the film whilst at the same time adding a slight uplifting feel. It remains fresh throughout the entire film and consistently gives me shivers whenever I hear it .

2. Trainspotting (1996)

Though the entire Trainspotting soundtrack is fantastic, it is this track that stands at the most for me. It sets up the tone of the film and compliments the iconic opening monologue wonderfully.

3. Slumdog Millionaire (2008)

Finally, M.I.A. may not be a great band but there sure did make a great song that was used  with great effect in little unknown sleeper hit Slumdog Millionaire. It creates a great transition in the main character’s journey.

Now what are your favourites as I’m sure you’ll disagree with my selection.

Matt.

Leave a Reply

